Am I Work Appropriate Now?

For me, going to work in the morning is a little confusing when I’m not sure how the weather’s going to turn out. It can be cloudy in the morning and then scorching by the end of the day. This leaves me wondering, what the heck do I wear??

Blouse: vintage Edward Chapman, Scarf: vintage Chanel, Pants: Zara, Shoes: Nine West

So how did I solve the dilemma of what to wear? I wore the above to work in the morning since it was cloudy and then after work scrapped the cami I was wearing  underneath my blouse and changed into a pair of tailored shorts. I should have taken a picture but I had to run out and watch a friend’s outdoor volleyball game. Too bad I got eaten alive by mosquitoes that evening.

I recently started buying vintage clothing from a few stores in Vancouver that I love. One of them being Front & Company on Main Street. They carry new, samples, consignment, and vintage clothing, shoes, accessories. They have these amazing window displays that amaze me every time I go to the store. It’s a dangerous store to go into; I always find something I want in there. You can also consign your own clothing there and set up an account easily.

F As in Frank is also a store I love on Main Street. Their trunk full of scarves and wall of sunglasses intrigues me everytime. Super fun store with really helpful staff. They carry some really fun pieces that are reconstructed vintage fabrics. Vintage stores used to really intimidate me because I never really knew how to shop in them and always got overwhelmed but I’ve realized that most people working in vintages stores are super friendly and have really unique styles. It also takes a lot of patience. I’ve been to other vintage shops, but these two are my favourite so far.

I will be at their alley sale and it will be my first! Can’t wait! See you there!

Some tips for beginner vintage shoppers:

1. Take a friend. Even if you don’t find that perfect belt buckle or vintage purse, you’ll have lots of fun looking at style blasts from the past. Make sure your friend is patient. Bonus if they’ve shopped vintage before and share their favourite stores with you.

2. Make sure you try on what you’re going to buy. You may think you know your size but every brand will have different sizing. Even over time (or decades) these sizes may differ. If the item you like is a little too big, you can always have it altered. Also, be gentle when trying on vintage clothing. The older it is, the more fragile.

3. Remember to inspect what you’re buying for tears, wear, any stains. It’s not a new item, but unless it’s something you want desperately, you don’t want to spend more money having it repaired (if it’s even possible). And many stains have had lots of time to set in, so they probably can’t even be sandblasted out.

4. If you love it, buy it. Chances are, it won’t be there the next time you visit. It’s not like retail stores where you can just order another.

5. If you’re nervous or new to buying vintage clothing, try accessories first. They’re a fun way to incorporate vintage items into your wardrobe without taking a big risk.

6. Have fun! I’m new too! 🙂

Do you have any tips for a new vintage shopper? Or some favourite stores?

    • Armistice
    • August 25th, 2010

    Layers layers layers! the secret of Vancouver fashion!

  1. Glad you found your vintage Chanel scarf! It’s too pretty to be hiding 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

