Coach Boggles My Mind

I like Coach’s leather. It feels soft, ages well, and they make some classic bags that stand the test of time, like this one:

Hamptons Leather Flap in Walnut, $398

The minimal brand label exposure, classic turnlock, neutral colour and versatility of this handbag make it so appealing. But then Coach has to go and ruin their store and image with things like this:

Pop C Collectible, $398

And this:

Sequins Backpack in Blue Jean $498

I’m not quite sure who they’re trying to target with this collection of “backpacks”. No mother in the right mind would purchase these atrocities they call “backpacks” for their daughter. I’ve never seen anyone in university carry anything remotely similar and I, being a working twenty-something girl, would NEVER carry this to work. I have nothing against sequins and colour; I love sparkle and it can be done right. Why, Coach, just why? 

Is it the same reason that Louis Vuitton created this?

Louis Vuitton Tribute Patchwork, $42,000

What do you think? Would you carry the Coach backpacks?

  1. I can imagine a really colourful socialite wearing those backpacks in lieu of something more practical as she goes “back-packing” in a foreign continent. I can also see it looking cute in fashion editorials. Other than that, not really much else. I think these companies see a market in more eclectic luxury accessories, I guess. Someone must be buying them!

    • Neko
    • August 15th, 2010

    Yea I would, shrugs.
    Not everyone has to like everything a brand manufactures, y’know?

      • maybegirl
      • August 15th, 2010

      I guess I’m pretty hard on Coach sometimes. I love their leather but don’t really carry any of their optics collection or anything super monogrammed. It just seems like they’re trying to target young girls. It’s true, I don’t have to like eveything Coach makes. But I don’t like the backpacks.

    • Potsdam Conference
    • August 15th, 2010

    It’s a shame that there will be many buyers for those disgusting bags regardless, they look like things you’d see in an 80s disco.

  2. I love sparkles too, but I wouldn’t spend $500 on that. The backpack looks cheap to me.

  3. I’m with you on this one. Coach was a leather goods maker and I still love their leather purses with minimal logo exposure, but they are making more and more things that just make me recoil. The poppy sidebar things they have with bloggers too is just horrific! I don’t know why they’re doing that to their brand image. Plastering a logo everywhere is opening the doors for easy replication and counterfeiting.

  4. PetiteAsianGirl: Actually, plastering a logo on something is one of the few ways companies CAN protect themselves because the logo is a registered trademark. Companies can’t copyright their designs, but they can put trademarks on the item and call foul if someone copies the item. There’s a very interesting TED talk about fashion and copyright law here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zL2FOrx41N0

    Anyhoo, I definitely like the first bag the best, and you’re right, they’re timeless. I recently found a vintage Coach crossbody saddle bag on Etsy for $47. It’s in mint condition and so on-trend with the “heritage” and vintage-inspired looks that are happening right now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

