Creative Interpretation of Work Appropriate

Jacket: Zara, Dress + Necklace: American Eagle, Shoes: Franco Sarto

I think what I wear to work borders on “too casual” sometimes but meh, somehow I get away with it. Actually, I think I’ve kind of changed the culture in our office a little bit. I guess you have to push the boundaries in order to break down the bridges. I swapped the jacket for a button up sweater vest and called it “work appropriate”.

I find it difficult to let my personality shine through the clothes I wear to work. My style is not conducive to dress pants and blouses; I find it hard to conform. How do you keep your wardrobe “work appropriate” while still wearing clothes you love? 

Tomorrow is casual Friday. Oh, how I love Fridays!

Oh yes, last Friday S and I met Hello Kitty with a few of our girlfriends. Isn’t she cute? Ok, it’s actually a boy underneath that costume but at least they tried. Well, we look cute anyway.

  1. I imagined Kitty to have a bigger head relative to her body, lol.

    I guess I’m one of those who like to “conform” … I like pencil skirts, blazers, shift dresses, ruffly blouses, etc. I’ve never been fashionable so I actually like the thought of a work dress code – it makes getting ready in the morning so much easier.

    This is a cute outfit and it’s great to see the F.S. wedge in action. I can picture how it would be nice with the vest as well.

  2. Hello Kitty wasn’t very cute, but ‘A’ for effort. lol

    I think it depends on the work setting. I used to wear dress pants and blouses in the office, but I stopped because it was more a causal office environment…which is perfect since I have to work after school sometimes!

    I’m loving the Franco Sarto shoes with that dress! Cute!

  3. You’re wearing your new bag! I love your dress!

    Where is your review on the rest of the Joe nail polishes?!

    • kawaiiiiiiiii
    • August 2nd, 2010

    that hello kitty’s eyes are way too big, totally trying to look anime-ish

    i think I have the easiest work dress code out there — shorts and a t shirt.

  4. I find it very difficult to express myself through work clothes too. They’re just so limiting. Luckily, I wear scrubs most of the time, but I get perplexed when I have to go to a meeting or conference. I think you’re outfit + sweater vest would be very appropriate and cute.

    • G
    • August 9th, 2010

    Hi A,

    I just found your blog via S’s and I love reading your opinion on fashion and nail polishes 🙂 !!

    xoxo G =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

