Joe Fresh Nail Polish Review

I’m a little late to jump on the Joe Fresh train but I finally caved and bought a few bottles of their nail polish. I was skeptical when I read other blogs advertising Joe Fresh and talking about it being affordable and what not. My first thought was, “affordable yes, but what about the quality of it?” I’m not really ready to try the make up, but the nail polish, I’ll give it a shot.

If you’re not familiar, Joe Fresh is a line carried by the Real Canadian Superstore designed by Joseph Mimran. He’s also the behind the creations of Club Monaco, Alfred Sung, and Caban. Joe Fresh pledges to provide current styles at affordable prices.

The nail polished is priced at $4.00 CDN each or 3 for $10.00. I’m a sucker for deals so I picked up three in very summer-y shades. I’m 99% sure I already have a light pink but upon seeing my friend T’s OPI Pinking of You, I had to have one. She has the nicest shades of nail polish! I find myself always asking her, “what colour is that??”. Not willing to pay another $10 for OPI (again), I wanted to try Joe Fresh. My local Superstore was sold out of most of the more current colours. They have a shade of green that is a close dupe for Essie’s (very popular) mint candy apple which is cleverly (not!) named mint.

Upon first impression:

  • The packaging is very clean and simple. The handle for the brush makes the bottle look bigger.
  • The colour selection is small. There’s only about 25 colours to choose from, BUT the colours they have are very current.
  • Upon closer inspection, the bottle only holds 6mL which is less than half of what an OPI bottle has. This could be good or bad. Good if you’re a nail polish-aholic like me and never finishes a bottle anyway. Bad if you find a colour you love and constantly have to buy a new one.
  • The brush is wide, similar to OPI brushes but just a little smaller and the handle is a little difficult to hold because of its largeness.
  • Each coat is pretty quick to dry. Maybe faster than OPI polishes

This is what the shade named pink looks on my nails:

One coat of OPI base coat, three coats of Joe Fresh pink, one coat of OPI top coat. Although, It looked pretty opaque after just two coats.

After four days:

I can not believe it but there is very minor tip wear on my nail polish after four days. I thought it would be similar to the American Apparel nail polish where it chipped a bit around the tips but I am pleasantly surprised with the quality of this polish. I’m not sure if it’s my OPI top coat but I had used the same one with the AA polishes. I really like this polish! I type a lot at work and handled so many envelopes over the last few days and the polish stayed intact. And the colour was so pretty, I couldn’t stop looking at my nails.

Overall:

Pros: Dries quickly, does not chip easily, good brush size, good price

Cons: handle is a little hard to handle, small quantity in bottle, limited colour selection (colours sell out quickly)

Overall: 8.7/10, the quality is really good, close to OPI.

    • Ardennes Offensive
    • July 8th, 2010

    It seems like Joe is just a smaller version of the OPI, at a little less cost. Like you said it also matters how much you’ll use but if you’re continuously buying the same Joe’s over and over is it more worthwhile to just get the OPI? Although you said it’s “almost” as good as the OPI, is it a better overall product compared to the OPI?

    • Bella
    • July 9th, 2010

    Cool, thanks for the review! I’m gonna have to check out my local Superstore too. Just out of curiosity, what kind of office job do you do?

    • C
    • July 9th, 2010

    Boo, I’m not on your blogroll.

    I wanted to pick up the mint green and lavender but they were sold out.

  1. I wanted the mint one too! I really like your Essie’s mint candy apple.

  2. You totally got me addicted to nail polishes! I just bought 4 more summer colours! Now I want to buy some Joe fresh ones too…

  1. August 9th, 2010
  2. August 10th, 2010

Leave a Reply

