Anti-Shopping Challenge 2010

Saving up to go on vacation is really hard for me especially during this time since all the spring collections are coming out in stores. I literally need to hole myself at home and turn off my computer to stop shopping. But instead, I torture myself by going on Revolve, Hautelook, and lots of other online stores and then “stopping by” the mall on my way home from work. I decided last week to challenge myself to not buy anything until my birthday. My birthday is exactly one month away today and I will resist buying anything. Window shopping is okay but no shopping. With a few exceptions, I have a budget of $150 for my day trip to the states to visit David’s Bridal with my girl friend for dress shopping and I can buy ONE birthday dress/oufit. I keep coming up with exceptions. But I will limit myself to those two things. In the meantime, here are the things I’ve been torturing myself with.

Marc Jacobs Classic Stam:

$1350 USD from Bloomingdales

That damn Stam has been on the back of my mind ALL FREAKING DAY! It is driving me mad. That is how much it would cost me to go to Mexico. And in Canada, it costs a lot more: $1645 CDN from Holt Renfrew. What bothers me more is that there was a 14 year old girl at Holt Renfrew looking at it with her parents (who were already holding a shopping bag from Louis Vuitton). *sigh*

From Townshoes:

$135 CDN

They are pretty comfy even though I tried one half a size smaller than I usually wear but I will have to try them on in my size. The wedge makes them easier to walk in than the stilettos I usually wear. I love the stud detailing on the shoe. Perfect  for those nights in Vegas… or so I can imagine. I think these shoes would take me far.

Last thing I’ve been looking at buying is a small leather cross body purse in a neutral colour. Since my New Year’s Eve debaucle of losing the purse that was literally cuffed to my wrist (a case of too much Patron, Grey Goose, and champagne…), I’ve decided that a small cross body purse would be ideal for any partying I may be doing in the near future. And I love that I would have use of both hands and arms to dance! I could do the robot… 🙂

Phillip Lim, $495 CDN from Holt Renfrew

The details on the 3.1 Phillip Lim “Adin” bag make the bag stand out from all the other ones I’d seen but the price puts me off just a little. I’m looking for a more of a delicate thinner leather strap though.

Marc by Marc Jacobs, $228 CDN from Holt Renfrew

The classic Q nugget is much more practical but and reasonably priced but it’s a tad plain for my taste and just a smidge small. But if I had to put my necessities in there, I probably could.

Michael Kors, $128 USD from michaelkors.com

Much more reasonably priced is the “charlton” bag. But I am not loving the flap with the little holes which my lip gloss could easily slip right out of. I know, not likely, but I think about these things. I like the pretty colour though. Also comes in fuschia, snake skin and other colours.
Alice in Wonderland 3D

Alice in Wonderland 3D

Shorten the hemline about 3 inches and I would wear it for my birthday. This is the dress that the Mad Hatter (played brilliantly by Johnny Depp) made for Alice after shrinking her and throwing her in the tea pot.
  1. The Shoe’s are awesome!!!!! and the bag too…

  2. i love that movie!

  3. I’ve been torturing myself with the stam ever since it came out…which is what feels like a decade ago. Unfortunately it’s heavy even when empty. They came out with an exact mini version called the kid stam a few years back, and I’m so mad that I missed out.

    And yes gotta love the 14 year olds. Ever been inside a Juicy Couture store? It’s like brat attack.

  1. May 15th, 2010

Leave a Reply

