Jimmy Choo for H&M Recap

This is what I would look like if I were homeless… This has to be one of my most unstylish days.  At one point, the blanket was wrapped around my legs to cover my freezing butt because I was silly enough to wear Lululemons because I thought they’d be comfortable. 

So I started lining up at 4am for the Jimmy Choo for H&M collection at Pacific Centre, Vancouver.  It was dark and boy, was it ever cold!  Luckily for us, it was not raining, which is strange for Vancouver weather.  We thought we were prepared for the line up but we were wrong.  There were people there with sleeping bags and chairs and snow pants and snow boots.  There was even a girl with a propane powered space heater.  Apparently, the people at the very front of the line had started lining up at 5pm the evening before the sale.  And we thought we would be close to the front; there were already about 90 people in front of us when we arrived at 4am! 

At around 9:15am, staff handed out different coloured bracelets to the first 160 people in line.  The bracelets represented what time we would be able to shop; our blue bracelets meant we were able to shop at 11:30am so we had to wait around in the store for another hour and a half after the opening.  The ladies garment collection and the men’s collection was a free for all basically, which meant that the racks were bare within 5 minutes of opening.  The ladies shoes, bags, and accessories had barriers around the area and about ten security guards around to watch the frantic shoppers.  When your time came up, you only had 10 minutes to shop the collection in groups of 20 people at a time.  Each customer had a personal shopper to help them find sizes and so everything was quite organized for such a highly anticipated sale.

I ended up buying the flat gladiator sandals, the black studded flats, the medium-sized leather bag with a flap, and the zipper clutch wallet.  I spent about $450 in total so I think it was quite a deal.  I was surprised that even though we were about the 6th group of 20 people that got into the shoe section, I was able to find everything I wanted in my size.  I don’t think I’d have been able to walk in the 4-inch cage sandals I tried on, but it was nice that I was able to try the size I wanted.  And the people who didn’t receive bracelets still got to shop the shoes after 12:15pm.  It looked like there were still many shoe boxes left after our group finished shopping.  I was exhausted after the sale and still had a concert fundraiser in the evening to help with so I took a much needed nap.

    • studmoofin
    • November 18th, 2009

    the picture of you is cute 🙂 … “spare some change?” heheh
    ps- good deals!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

