How I cleaned my Hunter rain boots

I bought Hunter rain boots about two years ago and I have to say, I love the quality of their boots because they have not failed me yet and do not look like they will fail any time soon. They are made of a quality rubber and also made from one piece of rubber, not two or more pieces glued together. In my opinion, that makes a difference because I’ve had other rain boots that have cracked or come apart from where the two piece were glued together which is usually close to the sole, making it pretty much useless because it will then leak water into the boot. In a city like Vancouver, a good rain boot is pretty much a staple because it rains all the time.

The only gripe about my Hunter rain boots was this so-called “blooming”:

Occasionally, you may notice a white powdery “bloom” on your Hunter rubber wellington boots. This is because rubber is a natural product and in certain conditions, insoluble particles may rise to the surface. This is a common process, characteristic of high quality, natural rubber and nothing to worry about.

This process does not affect the performance or durability of your boots.   A pristine finish and shine is easily restored with regular use of Hunter Boot Buffer, or Instant Boot Shine, available from good Hunter retailers, as well as from our online store.

I was not happy with how my boots looked especially since they were perfectly good and were quite expensive. I didn’t really want to order the boot buffer or boots shine from the online store nor could I easily find it in stores. I decided to take it into my own hands to clean up my Hunters. I looked up a few forums and some ladies were using Armor All. This is supposed to be used on cars to make your car look shiny and new. Sounds like it might work, no? Well I asked my friend who happens to detail cars as a hobby and has Armor All at hand. He told me that it probably shouldn’t be used on my rubber boots because it is a solvent and according to the Hunter website, is a no no on the boots. He recommended another product called 303 aerospace protectant. It is not a solvent and safe to use on rubber.

Now, it doesn’t look like much but it actually worked quite well. You can use paper towel or a clean piece of soft cotton towel you don’t need anymore. Spray a little on the towel or sheet and scrub. Here is the before and after boot. I cleaned one and not the other for demonstration purposes.

I’m quite happy with the end result. While it doesn’t look exactly brand new (I don’t think they ever will again), it’s a really good improvement. You should be able to pick up the 303 aerospace protectant at your local Canadian Tire for under $10 and you don’t really need too much product to thoroghly clean your boots so it will last a long time. Of course, this doesn’t keep your boots pristine forever. The blooming will still happen but a good wipe with the 303 will clean them once again. Here’s a picture of my boots good and clean:

And of course, I’m not an expert nor do I guarantee that this will work for you. I can only tell you that it worked for me for my particular style and colour Hunter rain boots. But good luck and hopefully this works for you.

Happy cleaning! Cheers!

    • Anna
    • October 24th, 2013

    Excellent write-up. Thanks for the tip. I’m going to try it on my Hunter boots. Cheers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

